A Year of Recreational Reading: 2015 Edition

2015books1

Somehow another year has come and gone, which means that it is time to share the results of my 5th annual reading challenge!

For the past five years, I have tried to make a point of reading non-academic books; as a graduate student, reading can be more of a chore than a pleasure, so this has been my way of fighting back. But 2015 has been a pretty busy year in terms of dissertation writing, so instead of my normal goal of 50 books, I scaled back to just 21 for this past calendar year.

Below is the complete list of my books for 2015, in the order read. I think that my favorite book of the year was David Mitchell’s The Bone Clocks, which I very highly recommend. I have read and enjoyed Mitchell’s other novels (Cloud AtlasThe Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet), but The Bone Clocks is probably my favorite. And I have a crush on Hugo Lamb, so I think that means I have to read Black Swan Green next (although I also recently bought a signed copy of Slade House, which looks great as well).

If you’re a reader, follow me on Goodreads! I keep track of all my books there, and I usually write reviews of each book that I read. (It’s also a great and social resource for readers, in case you haven’t yet discovered it.) In case any of you are looking for some new books to read, the items in bold are recommended based on the accompanying rating out of five stars:

* didn’t really like it
** it was ok
*** liked it
**** really liked it
***** it was amazing

Running with Scissors Augusten Burroughs ****
Zeno’s Conscience Italo Svevo ***
The Strange Library Haruki Murakami ***
Skylight Jose Saramago ****
Mr. Fox Helen Oyemi ***
The Book of Strange New Things Michel Faber ***
Sweetland Michael Crummy *****
Fairest Marissa Meyer ****
The Bone Clocks David Mitchell *****
The Ruby Circle Richelle Mead **
The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up Marie Kondo *****
Delirium Lauren Oliver ***

2015books2

Half-Resurrection Blues Daniel Jose Older **
Witches of East End Melissa de la Cruz ***
Serpent’s Kiss Melissa de la Cruz **
The Buried Giant Kazuo Ishiguro ****
The Invasion of the Tearling Erika Johansen ****
Dorothy Must Die Danielle Page ***
The Wicked Will Rise Danielle Page ***
The Sword of Summer Rick Riordan ***
Winter Marissa Meyer ****

Happy New Year!

Related Posts: