Mr. Men & Little Miss Do Harajuku

Sunday Jam x Mr. Men

Japan knows cute. Even when said cuteness doesn’t originate in Japan, this is a country that has a way of bringing everything adorable to the heart of Tokyo–often in the form of limited-run theme cafes. Pikachu cafes, Hello Kitty cafes… You name it, there’s probably someone in Tokyo painstakingly crafting food to look like it. Summer is a particular hotbed of theme cafes, and during my brief residency in Harajuku last summer, I took it upon myself to visit the Sunday Jam x Mr. Men collaboration a couple of times. Sunday Jam is a lovely little brunch/lunch restaurant in Harajuku that’s plenty cute all on its own, and last summer they teamed up with Mr. Men / Little Miss, a cast of adorable characters based on a 1970s book series by Roger Hargreaves. I actually only became aware of these characters in the last couple of years, but they are a real classic among British children.

Sunday Jam x Mr. Men

This sign gives you a taste of the adorableness yet to come. I thought that the fun and colorful character of the Mr. Men / Little Miss world fit just perfectly with the natural playfulness of Sunday Jam.

Sunday Jam x Mr. Men

The thing about these theme cafes is that they often come with collectible goods, something small for you to take home as a souvenir of that cuteness you once consumed. I ordered “Mr. Bump’s Surf Pancake,” a delightful plate with two pancakes arranged like a surfboard around a filling of fresh fruit and a whipped cream wave, complete with vanilla ice cream and a little chocolate palm tree. Of course, they give you a clean cup to take home, so you don’t have to worry about the mess.

Sunday Jam x Mr. Men

I was living just down the block, so I came back a second time to check out “Mr. Strong’s Fruit Custard Pancake.” Apparently, Mr. Strong really likes eggs, so it made sense to construct his dish as a stack of pancakes topped with a tasty custard and fresh fruit concoction. The adorable Mr. Strong cup was filled with affogato and came with an S-shaped cookie dipped in chocolate.

Sunday Jam x Mr. Men

And here’s a picture of me with my Mr. Strong dish. I love the bright colors in this place. Even when they’re not doing a collaboration, it’s extremely cute! I have brought many friends here for brunch over the years. The lines get long sometimes, but it’s never as crazy as something like Eggs ‘n Things, for example.

My friend ordered “Little Miss Sunshine’s Walking Matcha Waffle,” a green tea and chocolate flavored waffle with whipped cream.

Sunday Jam x Mr. Men

Anyway, if you’re in Tokyo for long enough to do anything but see the major sights, I definitely recommend that you check out some of the seasonal summer cafe collaborations around town. Time Out Tokyo is often a good English-language resource for discovering fun local events.

Are you a fan of Mr. Men and Little Miss? Have you been to any cute cafes lately? Tell me about it in the comments!

More content coming soon (I hope). Until then, you can always keep up with me on TwitterInstagram, and Facebook!

Related Posts: