Reading Challenges!

goodreads  1001books  stephenking

Things have been busy lately, but I’m still trying to keep up with my pleasure reading. To help motivate me, I’ve decided to participate in a few “reading challenges”:

1. The Goodreads 2012 Reading Challenge: I made it through 50 books last year, and I’m hoping to do it again in 2012!

2. The 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die Challenge (hosted at Pub Writes): I’m shooting for the “Silver Medal” level (16-20 books from the list). This should work nicely with my participation in the monthly Goodreads book club. This month’s selection is Nicholas Nickleby, which I’m really enjoying!

3. The Stephen King Project: I’m planning to participate at the extremely modest “A King Novice” level, which means that I’m committing to reading one Stephen King book. I’ve never read any of his books, but I’ve finally been lured in by the amazing reviews of 11/22/63.

What fun!

I also downloaded a fun new 1001 Books app for the iPhone, which has a statistics function that really puts things in perspective:

1001booksapp

Those figures were calculated under the assumption that I’d be reading two books per month, so I have a pretty daunting task ahead of me! (There’s also the matter of the list getting longer with each printing of the list—as you can see, I’m using the “All 3” book list, which brings my total books up to 1294 instead of the proclaimed 1001. So it’s a bit of a moving target.) Anyway, I’m not totally serious about pursuing this goal, but it’s a fun way to keep encouraging myself to read. I recommend it!

Happy reading!

Related Posts:

