Wordless Wednesday #3: Snowy Omi Shrine, Niigata

snowyshrine

Given the weather we’ve been having in Tokyo lately, I thought it would be appropriate to continue with the snow theme. Of course, Tokyo’s winters are nothing compared to those a few hours north in Niigata prefecture, where I lived for a year. Niigata definitely lives up to its reputation as the “snow country” of Japan; it gets the most snow for its latitude in the world (click here for one illustration). Just a couple of weeks ago, Self-Defense Force troops had to come help a town hard hit by the snow. Personally, I don’t think snow is that fun to deal with on a regular basis, but I enjoy admiring it from inside a warm, comfy apartment. The picture above is of the Omi Shrine, which was just around the corner from my home in Kamo-shi.

