36 Hours in New York City

This past weekend, my friend Tessa and I took a whirlwhind trip to New York City, via Greyhound Bus.  We made it to the city in a record three hours flat, bouncing off our bus at about 6:00 am and proceeding to walk the majority of Manhattan from top to bottom.  We covered quite a lot of ground: Central Park, Time Square, Rockefeller Center, Madison Square Garden, Grand Central Station, the Garment District, Little Italy, Chinatown, Soho, East Village, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Empire State Building, the World Trade Center Site, and who knows what else.  In general, I really loved New York.  I like places with lots of people and lots of different things to do, and I liked how the city seemed to be teeming with life at all corners.

A few snapshots to help you visualize:

 

Alice and I interned at the Environmental Protection Agency together, the last time I lived in Washington D.C. four years ago.  I hadn't seen her since then, so it was fun to catch up over coffee and cheesecake.  She's been living in New York City for the last two years through the Teach for America program.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

