Peter Bjorn and John / Fujiya & Miyagi / Ill Ease @ Bimbo’s

First of all, I should note that I am officially done with my first year of graduate school.  I submitted my last paper this morning and an intense feeling of relief immediately overtook me.  In celebration, I treated myself to a show at Bimbo’s.  I’m a little too tired to do a thorough review, but here’s the gist of it, along with a couple of videos I took at the concert:

Ill Ease
Raucous one-person band with songs like “two-party system” (about what you do when you have two parties in one night) and “fuck everyone.”  Much to her credit, the multi-tasking musician had a very friendly demeanor and even called up an audience member to play the tambourine.  But it wasn’t an act I’d recommend or choose to sit through again.

Fujiya & Miyagi
Great fun, and endearing in that very-white-dance-party kind of way.  I am fond of Transparent Things, and these guys brought the record to life tonight.  Very fun electronic/indie stuff, great to dance to.  The band members seemed very nice and were flattered by the positive response from the audience; they even came down to take pictures with a few of their fangirls after the set.  (There were a bunch of Asian girls dancing their hearts out – it was cute.)  I really enjoyed seeing this band, but I think that their live performances will improve after they get another album under their belts – a few of the tracks fall a little flat.  But some of them are terrific.
Recommended listening: Collarbone, Transparent Things

Peter Bjorn and John
Oh my goodness, what a fantastic live band!  I would rank this performance among the best that I’ve been to.  Peter, the lead vocalist and guitarist, is an excellent performer – he struck me as reminiscent of British invasion bands from the 1960s, in all the right ways.  Bjorn was lovably Swedish.  And John was wearing an argyle sweater vest – need I say more?  Anyway, they performed all of Writer’s Block, and it was just a terrific set all around.  I highly recommend seeing them if you get a chance.  I also recommend visiting Bimbo’s if you’re ever in San Francisco – it reminds me of Neumo’s, again, in all the right ways.
Recommended listening: Let’s Call It Off, Young Folks, Amsterdam

Sincere thanks to the powers that be for a terrific day.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

