“And don’t say that I have changed… cause man, of course I have.”

Picked up a copy of of Montreal's Hissing Fauna, Are You The Destoyer? yesterday, and a cursory four or five listens seems to indicate wonderful things. I like this album – it's somewhat darker and more subtle than The Sunlandic Twins, but it's a pathos that drives forward instead of tripping over itself. And it retains the same compelling harmonies and fun grooves that one would expect from of Montreal, so really, what more could a person ask for? I'm super-excited to see them on Friday. It'll be my second official show since I've been back in the U.S. (Shameful, I know – but we've all gotta start somewhere.)

It looks like plans for Coachella are temporarily on hold. C'mon people, help me out here.

This Monday was largely spent finishing up my application for a summer Foreign Language and Area Studies Fellowship (my D.C. backup plan) and being mired in Polanyi's The Great Transformation, his explanation of the collapse of 19th century civilization (which was proximately caused by the collapse of the gold standard but more broadly by the "stark utopia" of the self-regulating market, according to him). Good stuff, but time-consuming. Hopefully this week will be a little less taxing than last.

Also tried out another Berkeley Indian restaurant, in my continuing search for something tasty and slightly closer than San Francisco. Today's candidate was Ajanta, up in the northern part of town. Objectively, it was better than the places I've tried south of campus, but I still wasn't really convinced. Might have to try it again. High marks for service and atmosphere though.

More reading awaits…

Read and post comments | Send to a friend